Birds of a Feather

It’s that time of year again.  Spring has sprung, although in many areas summer has arrived.  Where I live, in the foothills of the Sierra’s, spring is still here and the birds are busy making their homes for their new little families.

I love this time of year.  I find great pleasure in sitting on my front porch in the early morning, drinking a cup of coffee and, with my camera close at hand, watching the birds as they fly in and out of nearby trees.

Another delight is that this year, I have a pair of Blue Birds that have built a nest in the hollow of a tree that stands at the edge of my front lawn.


Last year in a neighboring tree, a Red Headed woodpecker had a nest.  For about two weeks I watched as their only child grew and made himself visible.  He was quite entertaining, poking his head out of the doorway, looking for his parents to return with more food for him.  He would often call to them even appearing demanding at times.


The parents were quite attentive, working hard to bring him food on a regular basis.  They were good parents.  


Each morning I would make my coffee, grab my camera, and sit on the porch waiting to see what new scene would be played.  It was as if I was the one person audience and this show was being played just for me.   I knew the time was close when the baby would be gone as he was venturing out of the nest more and more each day.  


I remember the morning he did not appear, the parents did not come and go and I sat on the porch feeling a bit sad that the show had come to an end.  I had hoped that I’d see the baby come back to roost in the tree, but he did not.  The tree seemed so quiet.  There was no longer the flurry of activity of a baby being fed and raised, no little head poking out looking for it’s parents and no squawking.

This year however, there is a little family of Blue Birds.  I have always loved Blue Birds but have seldom seen them.  So, having a family right in my front yard is a real treat.  They are in the process of building their nest in the hollow of a tree, the male carries twigs and grasses into the hollow, along with the female.  They are very sweet little birds, moving quickly, never sitting still for very long.

I will look off into the distance on my property and see a streak of blue fly by.  Down to the ground, up into a tree, spending a few seconds on the ground in my garden.

This past Sunday morning as my daughter and I sat on the porch talking, we watched the new neighbors.  The male sat on a tree branch, tilting his head as if he was listening to our conversation, the dogs wandered around on the lawn below him but they did not seem to be bothered much by our activity.


I anticipate mornings on my porch again, with my camera and coffee, watching this little family as it grows.  I hope I have a chance to see the babies and snap a few pictures.  When the children have grown I know I will miss the flurry of activity that always accompanies raising a family.  However, I also know that it will make room for new residents next spring.  Who would have thought little Blue Birds, one of my favorite birds, would have chosen this spot, this year.  A real delight!

About Kathi Ann Photography - Sacramento Area Pet Photographer

I am a portrait photographer of people and animals. Photography is a second career after raising 3 children and numerous pets. I live in the foothills outside of Sacramento, California and love the country life. I photograph on site or at my studio for the Sacramento and surrounding areas. I am available for events, anniversary parties, horse events and offer a discount for senior pet portraits. If you would like more information on my availability or pricing, please contact me at kathiannphotography@outlook.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birds of a Feather

  1. Karen J. says:

    I find myself looking forward to your minthly blogs.
    What beautiful pictures. You have a God given talent with your camera.
    Look forward to seeing you soon.

  2. Kathi, These past couple of posts are gorgeous! I did not get a link to them…must need to re subscribe! Miss you!

Leave a comment